Home ›› News ›› India to Ratify Kyoto Protocol on Climate Change

India to Ratify Kyoto Protocol on Climate Change

The Union Cabinet gave its approval to ratify the second commitment period (2013-2020) of the 1997 Kyoto Protocol on containing the emission of Green House Gases (GHGs) on 24th January 2017. Under the Kyoto Protocol (KP) which had become operational in 2005, only developed nations are mandatorily required to undertake mitigation (emission cuts) targets and to provide financial resources and transfer of technology to the developing nations. The first commitment period of the KP was 2005-12. Its second commitment period was adopted in 2012. But, only 65 countries have so far ratified the Second Commitment Period (2013-2020).

Latest News

This website and its content is copyright of Indian Wind Turbine Manufacturers Association - © [2014]. All rights reserved.

Any redistribution or reproduction of part or all of the contents in any form is prohibited other than the following:

You may not, except with our express written permission, distribute or commercially exploit the content. Nor may you transmit it or store it in any other website or other form of electronic retrieval system.